31.01.2017

Today at work, it popped up on our intranet that it is LGBT history month! They also posted a link to the LGBT staff network within the prison system, that I didn’t even know existed. After doing a bit of research, I knew it was something I needed to join- but the idea terrified me. I’m not sure why, but It made me feel a little vulnerable. I already have my gender and my age against me, do I want to make it even more noticeable that I had another aspect that is ‘different?’

Stupid thinking! I’m not like this, so why was I suddenly scared?? Eventually I bit the bullet and emailed them- they sent me a membership form soon after! I’m glad I did, it’s never a bad thing to be part of something. 

Leave a Reply

